Reflections

quote-self-reflection-is-the-school-of-wisdom-baltasar-gracian-123-11-69

Introverted iNtuitive Feeling Judging (INFJ) is the rarest of all personality types making up only 1 to 3% of the population.  The INFJ is also the most reflective of the sixteen Myers-Briggs personality type.  It also happens to be my personality type.

I have entered the realm of teaching two years ago.  This is now my third year.  I was pleased to learn about reflective teaching.  My personality delights in this skill and the purpose of continuous learning.  Reflective thinking is something that I would like to sink my teeth into…not in a vampire-like style but more of frazzled-lady-to-comfort-food type.

I checked out “Becoming a Relfective Practitioner” and read:

In a professional setting, reflection is:

  • Deliberate
  • Purposeful
  • Structured
  • About linking theory and proactive
  • To do with learning
  • About change and development

This provides me a system to work out my reflection powers.  Like any super-human power, reflection has to mastered.  Otherwise it could wreck havoc into my life.  I have been doing tons of reflective thinking to the point that I have experienced analysis-paralysis. There are other pitfalls but that is how unique abilities are fashioned.  Thus, for me to be the best teacher that I can be, I have to risk the paralysis in order to be liberated from technical rationality and even from my own comfort zone.

Donald Schon (1983) pointed out the distinction between technical rationality and tacit knowledge or what can be referred to as “theory-practice” gap.  Being a relatively new teacher, I have much to learn.  How I wish I could develop tacit knowledge overnight.  But, that is not realistic.  However, reflective thinking empowers me to have a dynamic stance in my career as a teacher.  In addition, it empowers me to become a better individual.

There are two areas by which I would like to use reflective teaching: classroom management and teacher effectiveness.  I am also considering these topics for my assignment (An Analysis on the Issues in the Teaching Profession).  And I am also studying Reflective Teaching Model and its applications.

Sources:

Baltasar Gracian Quote. (n.d.). Retrieved May 25, 2016, from http://www.azquotes.com/quote/1231169

Learning to teach: Becoming a reflective practitioner. (n.d.). Retrieved May 19, 2016, from http://www.open.edu/openlearn/education/learning-teach-becoming-reflective-practitioner/content-section-0

Reflective Teaching Model: A Tool for Motivation … (n.d.). Retrieved May 25, 2016, from http://coefaculty.valdosta.edu/lschmert/gera/volume 5/Junor-Clarke07Final.pdf

Leave a Reply

